San Antonio Citizens Federal Credit Union Awards $15,000 in Scholarships


(Pictured L-R) Scholarship recipients Alexander Gard, Caitlin Eudy, Anna Anderson, Makaelynn Cameron, Jacob Partain, Scout Newlon, Jillian Payne, Belal Mansour, and Adeline Shiver; and SACFCU leaders Tony Coleman (board of directors), CEO Patty Sarne, John T. Vogel (chairman of the board), and Jay Vogel (supervisory committee chairman).

San Antonio, June 8, 2023 — San Antonio Citizens Federal Credit Union held a ceremony Tuesday, June 6, at the credit union’s Operations Center in San Antonio to present ten $1,500 “Be The Difference” scholarships to their credit union members who are graduating from local high schools this year. 

Scholarship applicants must be a credit union member graduating from a high school program within the credit union’s service area and continuing their education after high school.  This year’s scholarship recipients are Anna Anderson, Makaelynn Cameron, Caitlyn Eudy, Alexander Gard, Belal Mansour, Scout Newlon, Jacob Partain, Jillian Payne, Adeline Shiver and Effie Tillack.

The graduates are headed off in different directions and chasing different dreams.  The Credit Union would like to congratulate the scholarship winners for their commitment to their education and their community.

The credit union began its Scholarship Program in 2008.  Now in their 16th year of the program, San Antonio Citizens Federal Credit Union has awarded a total of $110,000 to members continuing their education after high school.

SACFCU is proud to be guided by the vision statement “To be the difference that empowers dreams to be realized.”

San Antonio Citizens Federal Credit Union is a not-for-profit financial institution, federally chartered on December 12, 1955. Joe Collura, Joe Herrmann, and fellow community members founded the Credit Union with the commitment to promote the financial success of community members. Today, they are the longest-operating financial institution in Pasco County. With locations in San Antonio, Dade City, Zephyrhills, and Wesley Chapel, they are a community credit union.  

As a credit union, they are a collaborative where account holders are members and, as such, are owners not “customers.” They continue to operate with their founders’ guiding principle of “Neighbor helping Neighbor.” This philosophy sets them apart from other financial institutions. They are a community of people leveraging their collective resources to help one another thrive. 

Discover the value of ownership at San Antonio Citizens Federal Credit Union.